Happy New Year!


This morning I set out to run before the sun rose. In fact, the purple light of dusk had just started to emerge. From where I started, I could not see the horizon, the eastern coastline of Florida. I thought the sky was fully covered by clouds. It was not. And I discovered this when I rounded the corner.

Displayed before me was a purple sky, bruised and dark, but with ribbons of orange and pink breaking through where the sun was coming up. The ribbons glowed with the warm light of the sun through these streaks. It took my breath away and gave me goosebumps. And reminded me that our perspective is everything. Before beholding this sight, I assessed the weather situation right away when I left the house. I made a rather pessimistic conclusion (that the sky was dark and cloudy and that it would rain) and started my run.

The reality hit me, however, a few seconds later. I was reminded of the magic of nature, as well as the fact that we can continue to be surprised, that our expectations can be smashed. I was expecting a dark day, maybe some rain, based on the limited perspective I had when I left the house. When I was able to see the whole picture, literally, I was pleasantly shocked, my perspective broadened, and humbled. A good reminder.

It is the last day of 2013, today, of course. It has been an eventful year for me in so many ways. At the same time, it is just another day, if we remember that we are only given one day at a time.

I did not get a picture of the sunrise this morning, but this picture is an equally inspiring shot of what nature can do. It was taken in Ocho Rios. Enjoy your day and stay safe as you usher in a new year.

1 thought on “Happy New Year!

Leave a comment