Some R.Kelly on way to work


My route to work consists of one coaster bus and then a route taxi at a cost of $100 each (about $1.00 US). Lately, because of a crackdown by police on PPVs, (public passenger vehicles) they have been less insane and more placid. This means less night-club decible-level music blaring, less aggressive driving and less tinted windows. I almost miss the chaos but appreciate the relative increase in safety and predictability.

The route taxis, however, have still not been subjected to a crackdown, so they remain rickety and continue to careen and swerve down Kingston’s main roads. It has become a habit for me to lock the door if I am squished against it, since five or sometimes more people are packed in, thus testing the capacity of the vehicle.

In any case, this morning I was treated to luxury: a clean, new route taxi with tinted windows, air-conditioning and a television playing R.Kelly/Isley Brothers videos. Lovely.

Leave a comment