August Town shooting


Yesterday I was on my way down to August Town for a meeting when my contact called me. I was a few minutes away from my destination when he came on the phone and said “Don’t come down now, someone has just been shot.” I told the taxi to turn around and the driver got on the radio and told the dispatch to be careful as “something a gwan in August Town. A man got shot.” Then several police cars drove past us. It struck me that the driver assumed it was a man who was shot, as did I. I made many assumptions that are probably true as soon as I heard the news: young men, likely involved in crime or drugs or a turf war, staking their territory or seeking revenge. Unfortunate assumptions and stereotypes that are likely true. (I will check in with my contact and see what actually happened.)

The area has been volatile for the past several years and has flared up lately. A police officer was killed in September and there are frequent curfews. It is unfortunate as there are also a lot of amazing things going on in this community. These pictures are from a visit I made awhile ago to the basic school. Let’s hope things improve.

Leave a comment