So fresh


Yesterday, I picked an orange off a tree and ate it. It was so uniquely tasty and even more pleasurable knowing that I had just harvested it. It was warm from the sun, fat and perfectly ripe. The other day, I wanted some coconut juice and within minutes was drinking it out of a glass, freshly drained from its green casing. In mango season, I ate this delectable fruit after someone plucked one for me, just after seeing “Yellow” coming out of the sea with a couple dozen fish he had just caught. We ate them a few hours later. I regularly eat bananas so sweet, I can no longer eat them when I go home, so tainted are they by days of transportation in a truck. I cook carrots, cauliflower and beans daily, barely dusting the dirt off. Just one of the reasons I love living here. Eating right from the ground, so cheap and healthy.

Leave a comment